Bungie announce Destiny 2.2.0 update

DLC News Xbox One

In their weekly briefing, This Week at Bungie, it was announced that a much needed content update is coming to Destiny on April 12, 2016.

Featuring new PvE content, an increase to the maximum light level, new gear, Crucible changes, and more, the update comes at a time where many Destiny fans are growing weary over the current lack of content.

As what has become a tradition for Bungie, there will be a short series of three special broadcasts from their newly minted Twitch studio the next three Wednesdays, all of which can be viewed at twitch.tv/bungie. Each of the three streams will focus on a particular feature of the update, and will be broadcast as follows:

  • April Update Preview: New Things to Do
    Wednesday, March 23rd – 11AM PST/6PM GMT
  • April Update Preview: New Things to Earn
    Wednesday, March 30th – 11AM PST/7PM GMT
  • April Update Preview: Sandbox and Crucible Updates
    Wednesday, April 6th – 11AM PST/7PM GMT

There is already speculation that the update will feature a similar activity to that of the Prison of Elders, the end-game activity which was introduced with the release of House of Wolves. However, nothing can be confirmed until further details are released by Bungie.

If you have Destiny: The Taken King, the April Update is included with your purchase. When the time comes, download the update and you’ll be good to go. – David “DeeJ” Dague, Community Manager.

Will this satiate the Destiny fans until a larger update arrives? We will have to wait and see…

Web Developer by day, massive geeky gamer by night. I've been playing games for as long as I can remember, and am a total Xbox One fangirl.