Join the Digital Treasure hunt for the Golden Banana with Sea of Thieves

Xbox One

With Sea of Thieves sailing ever closer to release, Xbox have started a treasure hunt, giving us the chance to uncover Golden Bananas worth £20,000.

London’s famous Smith & Harris Goldsmiths has created four golden bananas, crafted to replicate the health source in Sea of Thieves. The bananas are valued at £20,000 per banana – a loot worthy of even the most discerning of treasure hunters.

You’ll need to crew up with up to three friends to crack cryptic clues, follow the trail and find the treasure.

The Quest kicks off at 12:00 AM PT / 08:00 GMT / 19:00 AEDT, Monday, March 19 with a riddle being released every few hours and continues over the course of three days as you and your crew attempt to solve a total of 15 riddles. On Wednesday, March 21 at 13:00 PT / 21:00 GMT / 07:00 AEDT (Thursday, March 22) each team will be able to input the answers to those 15 riddles at Teams will have seven hours to submit their answers.

The first crew from each country to answer the riddles correctly will move onto the semi-finals on March 22 for one last riddle. Throughout The Quest, participants will also have plenty of opportunities to win instant prizes since the golden bananas will be quite elusive.

The riddles for The Quest will be scattered online and across several real-life locations in Key West, Florida; London, United Kingdom; Berlin, Germany; Sydney, Australia; Paris, France; and Victoria, Canada. Should you find yourself marooned elsewhere, these clues will also be scattered digitally as well.

Will you be getting a crew together? Let us know how you get on!

Sea of Thieves is available for pre-order now and will also be included with Xbox Game Pass on March 20.


Dave is the co-owner of TIX - When the site breaks, it's his fault! You'll find him playing a lot of FIFA and removing heads with ease on Gears of War with the longshot...