Click Me
Click Me

BY CONTINUING TO USE THIS SITE YOU AGREE TO THE USE OF COOKIES. YOU CAN CHANGE THIS & FIND OUT MORE VIA OUR PRIVACY & COOKIES POLICYclose

Tag Archives: ubisoft

E3 Conferences 2015

e3_logo

E3 2015 is nearly upon us, and we here at This is Xbox are bursting with excitement.

We have some pretty strong predictions on what we’re going to see at the event – listen out for our E3 Predictions podcast coming soon – but it’s the unknown that really get our motor’s running.

“But when are these conferences actually happening?” I hear you ask. Well let me tell you:

Sunday, June 14 •Bethesda – 7 pm PT / 10 pm ET / 3 am BST (Monday)

Monday, June 15 •Microsoft – 9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm BST •EA – 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET / 9 pm BST •Ubisoft – 3 pm PT / 6 pm ET / 11 pm BST •Sony – 6 pm PT / 9 pm ET / 2 am BST (Tuesday)

Tuesday, June 16 •Nintendo – 9 am PT / 12 pm ET / 5 pm BST •Square Enix – 10 am PT / 1 pm ET / 6 pm BST •PC Gaming Show – 5 pm PT / 8 pm PT / 1 am BST (Wednesday)

So those are all the announced conferences and their times – a couple of early mornings for us Europeans – but I for one will be awake and watching all of them, will you be?

Ubisoft announce exclusive Uplay Assassin’s Creed Syndicate edition

Assassins-Creed-Syndicate

It’s a given that a new Assassin’s Creed game would be given the special edition treatment by Ubisoft, and one of these editions is exclusive to Ubisoft’s Uplay Shop.

Ranging from £59.99-£114.99, the editions contain an array of treats for fans, including a rather nice Jacob statue and exclusive numbered lithograph, included in the Uplay version. I must admit to being sorely tempted to picking one of them up, the brand new trailer has me giddy with excitement for the next instalment to the series, and besides, it’s in London! Haven’t we all been asking for this ever since Altair took his first Leap of Faith?

Check out the editions below:

Assassins Creed Syndicate announced

IMG_7856.JPG

Assassins Creed: Syndicate has officially been announced in a Ubisoft Livestream, the game will be set in London in 1868 and will feature two playable protagonists, twins Jacob and Evie Frye.

The game is single-player only, with Ubisoft saying the decision was taken so the development team in Quebec could “focus on creating the biggest city based open-world that we’ve ever had for an Assassin’s Creed game”, and Syndicate’s Victorian London will be approximately 30% larger than Unity’s map. London will consist of six boroughs: Westminster, the Strand, the City of London, Whitechapel, Southwark, and Lambeth, with the River Thames serving as a major part of the game.

The game is due to release on October 23 and I’m sure we’ll be seeing plenty more details soon.

Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China review

Chronicles-China

A new fad is sweeping through gaming, no, not re-releasing old games with a spit of HD polish – that’s old news – it’s episodic titles. Telltale Games made this business model a success and now every Tom, Dick and Harry is dipping their toe in the water to see how it could work for them. Ubisoft have decided that for their next Assassin’s Creed title, it would suit them best to split it up into three separate games, which is rather fitting because each one takes place in a different time period, in a different land and with a different art style. Chronicles is also a far throw from what I’ve come to expect from an Assassin’s Creed title.

The first part is set in China and focuses on Shao Jun, a survivor of the merciless killing of the Chinese Brotherhood of Assassins, carried out by the Tigers – aka the Templars. Assassins…check, Templars…check – so far it sounds like an Assassin’s Creed title, Shao Jun even has an artefact given to her by Ezio Auditore – ok so they may be clutching at straws to tie the stories together.

Chronicles: China is a 2.5D scrolling platformer that’s wrapped in Assassin’s Creed gameplay mechanics. The watercolour graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is well delivered, and minus the cutscenes that are little more than stills from a book, Chronicles: China could easily convince you that this is a normal Assassin’s Creed title, but it’s anything but normal.

Unfortunately, the story is rather throwaway, with an average tale of revenge. I found no empathy for the characters, something I’ve come to love about the series (all bar Conor in Assassin’s Creed III).  The platforming is smooth and as good as any of the other recent titles in the » Continue Reading.

The Crew: Raid Pack DLC

The-Crew

The new Crew Raid live update DLC brings three new cars in the form of a Volkswagen Touareg NF 2011 – a beastly suv with 340bhp, a Cadillac Escalade 2012 – packing a 6.2 litre v8 and of course the infamous McLaren F1 (need I say more?). these cost £7.17 individually and £5.59 as a pack saving you £1.58!

With the update you will also get four all new off-road tracks free to all, as well as loads of customisation options and tuning specs.

Tom Clancy’s rainbow six: Siege

Rainbow-Six-Siege

The first installment of Siege spotlight trailers looks at the British unit. The elite team of Smoke, Mute, Thatcher & Sledge show off their skills in this trailer as they breach the opposition with a tactical display.

More focus on other counter terrorism units in the coming weeks.

Who dares. Wins.

Assassin’s Creed Chronicles begins with China

Assassins-creed-chronicles

I am stupidly excited for the next entry into the Assassin’s Creed series – Chronicles. The new trilogy kicks off with China, and the launch trailer is below – it looks wonderful!

In 16th-century China the recently appointed Jiajing Emperor instigated a sudden and ruthless purge of all he felt were a danger to his newly acquired throne, including the Chinese Brotherhood of Assassins. A young Assassin, Shao Jun, fled to the West to complete her training under the legendary Assassin Ezio Auditore in the animated short Assassin’s Creed: Embers and has returned, determined to restore the Chinese Brotherhood of Assassins.

The fun begins tomorrow, April 21 – I can’t wait to get home and download this!

Trials Fusion receives its final piece of ‘planned’ DLC

Trials-Fusion

10 new tracks, 24 challenges, 5 achievements and a variety of new objects for the track editor – this is “Life after the incident” the sixth and final piece of planned DLC for Trials Fusion, and available to download now for Xbox One – free to those who own the season pass.

In After the Incident players investigate the causes of the disaster that has devastated Earth. Following tragic events, the flourishing world as we know it has brutally passed away, leading to a vast field of ruins and the broken dreams of a whole civilisation. Riders must proceed with caution as they navigate through ruined cities and devastated ecosystems.

 

Ubisoft announce brand new Assassin’s Creed trilogy

Assassins-creed-chronicles

Ubisoft have revealed that Assassin’s Creed Chronicles will be the next title in the popular series, however it’s not what you might expect! Chronicles is a trilogy that will take you on a journey spread over three games with three different assassins, across three different periods in history and three different empires – China, India and Russia.

Check out the trailer below… Do I spot a bit of UbiArt! It looks fantastic and I’m already buzzing with excitement. The side scrolling 2.5D action will make for a great change of pace to the series and has a Prince of Persia vibe about the gameplay.

China will be the first chronicle in the series, which will release on April 22.

Collector’s Edition and Operator system are headed to Rainbow Six Siege

Rainbow-Six-Siege

 

Ubisoft have announced that Rainbow Six Siege will have its own Collector’s Edition, which will include:

    Full game Collector’s box Gold Skins Pack for all in-game weapons Exclusive 120-page Tactical Guide

The edition can be pre-ordered now from the Uplay Shop. Remember, if you do pre-order the game you’ll get access into the upcoming beta for the game. To sweeten the deal, if you do pre-order from the Uplay Store, you are “guaranteed” access to the beta and also receive an ‘exclusive numbered steel book’ with the game.

Ubisoft have also announced that an Operators system will be at the heart of Rainbow Six Siege – here’s the trailer.

Made up from the best of the best, Operators go back to the roots of the Rainbow Six series – a team made up of specialists from the World’s Special Forces – each member has a unique skill, or rather a preference in how to get things done.

Check out the trailer below to hear more about the system direct from the developers and be sure to join Ubisoft on March 30 at 7pm UK time when they will be streaming the game on Twitch.